top of page

Travel Journal

If blog does not fully load, please refresh page

(full date range of entries: 2.1.2018 - 8.5.2018)

To comment, make your own account or use the public one:

username: londonblog12345@gmail.com

password: godsavethequeen

Have memories from the same place? Suggestions for where I should visit next? Write a comment and share them!

Stonehenge, Bath, Canterbury

Updated: Aug 31, 2018

04.04.2018 -


It's only Wednesday, and this week has already been so busy. (It seems like almost all my entries start like that!)


My Stonehenge and Bath trip turned out great! It was rainy, but that's what you expect... I got to explore the stones and learn about the history, and got a great souvenir pin I clipped onto the front of my journal. It was also calming to see some of the countryside - it's nice to get out of London sometimes.

Bath was also gorgeous; the Roman baths themselves were really interesting, and I love the history around them, but honestly a major highlight for me was eating my Passover lunch in the park and getting to explore the Jane Austen Centre. Definitely love my Elizabeth pin! (it’s also on the front of my journal)

I have no class this week (or was able to get permission to make up the ones I did) so was able to make it to the Shire of Kent. Gorgeous, exactly what you imagine small, English villages to be. I spent most of the morning walking all around Canterbury, seeing the Cathedral, Garden, and various churches. I think I can appreciate why there were pilgrimages to it. The day was beautiful, I really lucked out. Since it's Passover still, I brought my matzah for lunch had another little picnic in the park.

Afterward I took a quick train and walked to Chilham, a very small village known for its Victorian thatched roofs and quaintness. I took a long stroll along a winding country road, just getting to take in the beautiful hills and vistas. It reminds me of what I imagine Jane Eyre saw when she ran away from Thornfield Hall.

Today was my internship, and right now I'm at Metrogate House just waiting for my laundry to finish up. Tomorrow I go to Golders Green for the end of Passover!


Best,

-Ruth xoxo

PS. I’ve started to use British slang by accident!


PSS. I keep finding more places I want to see in England. Guess I'll just have to come back.



 
9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Edinburgh
Ireland
The Woman in White
Julius Caesar
Paris
Dover
Phantom of the Ope...
Royal Shakespeare C...
Comedy About A Ba...
Beginning
Camden Market
National Gallery
Wallace Collection
London Eye
Tower of London
The Play That Goes...
Young Frankenstein
Churchill's War Rooms
Kensington Palace
Tate Modern Museum
Harry Potter!
Platfom 9 3/4
Sherlock
Greenwich
Royal Albert Hall
The Globe
School of Rock
Cambridge
Windsor Castle
Les Miserable
Stonehendge + Bath
Jane Austen Museum
Canterbury
Stratford-upon-avon
Brighton
Victoria & Albert Museum
Scottish Highlands
Glasgow
The Royal Family!
Hamilton
British Museum
bottom of page