top of page

Travel Journal

If blog does not fully load, please refresh page

(full date range of entries: 2.1.2018 - 8.5.2018)

To comment, make your own account or use the public one:

username: londonblog12345@gmail.com

password: godsavethequeen

Have memories from the same place? Suggestions for where I should visit next? Write a comment and share them!

St. Paddy's Day & Royal Albert Hall

18.03.2018 -


I’m currently taking the train to Cambridge for the afternoon/evening. I just had a fun but cold morning in Trafalgar Square with Olivia for St Patty's Day. But let's see, since the 13th...


On Wednesday I had work as usual, and I dared (considering my level of spiciness) to try a Bangladeshi restaurant around the corner - Yah, very spicy, but very tasty.


That night I went to a Broadway concert at the Royal Albert Hall - wow just spectacular. I knew a ton of the songs and all the singers were great, but the orchestra was just amazing. I sat behind the pit and could see everything. Seeing the hall filled, getting to watch it from the performers perspective - that is how I think the venue is meant to be seen (a simple tour would have been fine, but this was just breathtaking, especially after all the media and recordings I’ve seen of shows in the hall).


Thursday I took lunch at a cafe, read for a bit, and had a Purim J-Soc party that night. It was a bit small, but I knew enough people to have a good time. Friday I tried a new place for lunch at Spitafield’s! An Israeli owned falafel place - great stuff.


I finally had a Shabbos at home this weekend! This will be the last FND I'll get to go to... it was 50 minutes to walk to Central synagogue, but at least I had friends to walk back with as far as Marble Arch. Saturday I just lazed around (I definitely needed it).


Saturday night we had a bunch of people over to the flat including Heather, and Liv's Dad - I celebrated with whiskey :)


Today has actually been pretty busy! I went to Piccadilly Circus to see the Patty's Day Parade (after a movie in the morning with some flatmates) and Olivia and I walked around Trafalgar Square to see the Festival, concert, and of course drink some hard cider Irish. It was pretty kid-friendly and not nearly as rowdy as America surely is.


So now I'm on my way to Cambridge! Most things will be closed when I get there, but I'll have time to walk around and see the architecture and get dinner or work before I head back. That'll be enough for me!


Best,

-Ruth xoxo


 
8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Edinburgh
Ireland
The Woman in White
Julius Caesar
Paris
Dover
Phantom of the Ope...
Royal Shakespeare C...
Comedy About A Ba...
Beginning
Camden Market
National Gallery
Wallace Collection
London Eye
Tower of London
The Play That Goes...
Young Frankenstein
Churchill's War Rooms
Kensington Palace
Tate Modern Museum
Harry Potter!
Platfom 9 3/4
Sherlock
Greenwich
Royal Albert Hall
The Globe
School of Rock
Cambridge
Windsor Castle
Les Miserable
Stonehendge + Bath
Jane Austen Museum
Canterbury
Stratford-upon-avon
Brighton
Victoria & Albert Museum
Scottish Highlands
Glasgow
The Royal Family!
Hamilton
British Museum
bottom of page