top of page

Travel Journal

If blog does not fully load, please refresh page

(full date range of entries: 2.1.2018 - 8.5.2018)

To comment, make your own account or use the public one:

username: londonblog12345@gmail.com

password: godsavethequeen

Have memories from the same place? Suggestions for where I should visit next? Write a comment and share them!

HRH The Queen!, The British Museum, HAMILTON

Updated: Aug 24, 2018

21.04.2018 -


I've been doing so many things this week I've had almost no time to sit down and journal! Just a few more days left in London. I finished up my classes and internship this week, and this is my last night in the flat. Tomorrow night I'm staying at a hotel, and Monday I leave... scary how quickly it went.


Last Monday I had planned to go out exploring in London after getting back from Scotland, but ended up resting before class when we got back, and working on some final projects that night. Definitely was a late night. Tuesday was still more final projects, and since my final class of the day was canceled I was able to go to the British Museum (finally) - it was so cool, and the artifacts were amazing. I got to see the Rosetta Stone, which of course was very popular and had a large crowd around it, but I was really excited about the Gilgamesh Flood Tablet, which was much harder to find. It took me about 40 minutes, and asking a few museum security guards, before I able to discover it. It sits there with no pomp-and-circumstance - you wouldn't even know it was there unless you were looking for it! Thankfully, I was.


The weather this past week has also finally turned out nice :-) So at least there's been warmth and sunshine for my last few days.


Wednesday I had a "work from home" day for the internship, so I walked to Buckingham Palace to see (a pretty tame) Changing of the Guard. They do post the schedule online, but it can still be hard to know ahead of time. Though there was no music, the Cavalry and cannons were both very impressive.



From there I went towards St. Paul's and worked at a café before touring the inside of the cathedral. Of course the building itself and its historical significance are very impressive, but I was most excited for the lookout point all the way at the top circumferencing the top of the dome. It was a god-awful climb up. I had to stop a good few times, and catch my breath before descending later on. It felt very right that I get to see London at my feet, with four months of staying of here and only a few days left. I could just about track out my adventures through the city.

Thursday was definitely very special - I SAW HAMILTON!! I bought a discount ticket for an amazing price less than two weeks ago. The location was perfect: third row, middle of the row - I could quite literally hear the sounds of the costumes as they moved. Of course I was already familiar with the music, and was a little worried going in if I would be able to just enjoy the moment. Thankfully I had no trouble with distractions. I was able to get immersed in the experience, not thinking at all about the next number or scene coming up. Not only was the music superb and the performance deeply engaging, but also the choreography, lighting, and costume design were all spectacular in their own right and merit. So glad to have it as my 11th and final show in London.


The week ended off well, and I went to a friend and his family's home for dinner - it was nice to see him the other students there for dinner. I was able to walk most of the way home with someone from there (though it did take a good while), but the weather was nice and there were lots of people out.


Which brings me to today: my last Saturday in London! Some friends from the flat and I went to Kensington Gardens for a picnic next to the Palace. It began as a picture-perfect day. It started to get dark out, though, the sky threatening to rain, but the weather held. The area actually cleared out some from the other picnickers going away to seek shelter.


Earlier this evening, Olivia and I walked to the Royal Albert Hall to watch for the Royal Family. The venue was having a concert in honor of HRM the Queen's birthday, with most of her family in attendance. We stood across the street, and lucked out! We got to see many of the Royals getting out of their cars - Including HRH herself! Also her son, next-in-line Prince Charles, his wife Camilla, and Charles' sons William (in line after his father) and Harry, and Kate (soon to be married!) Kate was home, in her 9th month (NOTE: and would give birth just a few days later!) What a way to spend one of my final evenings! Prince Charles even waved to us! The Queen was a bit bent over and white-haired, and definitely hung on hard to that railing. But still so elegant! Both William and Harry are very tall. We sang a Happy Birthday to the Queen :-)

I have almost everything packed up now! Olivia and I got some late night ice cream nearby and walked around the area just enjoying the calm (as it ever gets) London night. There's so much to do tomorrow!


One more full day in London.


Best,

-Ruth xoxo



 
11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Edinburgh
Ireland
The Woman in White
Julius Caesar
Paris
Dover
Phantom of the Ope...
Royal Shakespeare C...
Comedy About A Ba...
Beginning
Camden Market
National Gallery
Wallace Collection
London Eye
Tower of London
The Play That Goes...
Young Frankenstein
Churchill's War Rooms
Kensington Palace
Tate Modern Museum
Harry Potter!
Platfom 9 3/4
Sherlock
Greenwich
Royal Albert Hall
The Globe
School of Rock
Cambridge
Windsor Castle
Les Miserable
Stonehendge + Bath
Jane Austen Museum
Canterbury
Stratford-upon-avon
Brighton
Victoria & Albert Museum
Scottish Highlands
Glasgow
The Royal Family!
Hamilton
British Museum
bottom of page